Here We Go Again!

Schools’s been out for several weeks and I’m just now restarting this blog. I’ve recently retired and I assumed that meant more time for reading and writing, but so far that hasn’t been the case. With retiring comes reorganizing, and my husband and I (he retired too) have spent the past few weeks trying to find room in our small house for all the stuff we used to keep at school. All that reorganization gave me time to think about what comes next and whether I want to devote any more time to reading and writing about education and teaching practice now that I’m no longer a practitioner.

As I reflect on my more than four decades as an educator, I keep coming back to something Dylan Wiliam said about the teaching profession.

He said that teaching is a job we never get good at so we have to keep trying to improve until we retire or die. I’ve retired, but I’m not dead yet, so I’ve decided to keep reading and thinking about teaching practice until I die.

I hope you’ll join me this summer in my little virtual book club. If you haven’t been here in previous summers, here’s how it works:

  • I’ll read a book that interests me and write a post on this blog with my impressions and thoughts about it. I’ll let you know the title several days in advance so you can get the book and read it too, if you want.
  • You read the post and respond to it in the comments. If you’ve read the book, we can argue about what it all means. (This is always fun!)
  • If you haven’t read the book, you can ask questions of those who have read the book so you can decide if you want to read it.
  • Or, you can just lurk on this blog, reading as much or as little as you want. Maybe you’ll want to join the conversation later.
  • If you’re very brave, you can write a post about a book you’ve read and I’ll publish it here. (Contact me if you want to be a contributor.)

First up this summer is The Perfect Assessment System by Rick Stiggins. I read the book when it first came out in March, and I’m rereading it now. I’ll post a review later this week.

Happy summer and happy reading!

About Barbara Greenstone

Reader, Writer, Educator
This entry was posted in Purpose and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

